Skip to main content

Very simple example?

5 posts   Feedicon  
Replies: 4 - Last Post: June 07, 2013 21:12
by: jrounceville
showing 1 - 5 of 5
Posted: February 20, 2011 22:25 by Obsfucation

Hi there.

I'm very very new to distributed systems, but have reasonable experience in Java so thought it would be the right language to explore it in further. This is what led me to Cajo really- that and a few people who recommend it!

I'm trying to create the most simple example that I can. I am running both the client and the server on the same machine, and am attempting to remotely access an object exported by the server on the client. Unfortunately, my client is never able to find any objects.

I've tried repeatedly to learn from various bits of code on the site, but with the move to the new Java.net I keep hitting dead links, or content I believe may be out-of-date (e.g. using constructors that do not seem to exist).

The code I am trying to use is as follows:

Server code-

import gnu.cajo.Cajo;
import java.io.IOException;

public class CajoServer {
    public static void main(String[] args) throws IOException {
        Cajo cajo = new Cajo();
        CajoExportInterface object = new CajoObject();
        cajo.export(object);
        System.out.println("Server running");
    }
}

Client code-

import gnu.cajo.Cajo;

public class CajoClient {
    public static void main(String[] args) throws Exception {
        Cajo cajo = new Cajo();
        Object[] results = cajo.lookup(CajoExportInterface.class);
        System.out.println(results.length);
    }
}

Interface for object being shared-

package cajotest;

public interface CajoExportInterface {
    public String getMessage();
}

Object implementing interface-

public class CajoObject implements CajoExportInterface {

public String getMessage() {
        return "Hello there!";
    }

}