Skip to main content

Multicast error

5 posts   Feedicon  
Replies: 4 - Last Post: June 09, 2011 10:15
by: k0nr4d
showing 1 - 5 of 5
Posted: April 29, 2011 13:22 by livonthedge
I was first working with an older version of the cajo.jar, constructor as follows:

Cajo(int port, String host, String Client) 

everything worked fine.

I then started to experiment with the most recent version of Cajo with the constructor as follows:

Cajo(int ttl, int port, String host) 

I would then get the below error. When I went back over to the older version of the cajo.jar I would then get the error when I ran that one as well.

I am fairly new to cajo and rmi and would appreciate it if anyone was able to give me a high level explanation as to what is going on.

Thanks so much.

java.net.SocketException: bad argument for IP_MULTICAST_IF: address not bound to any interface
        at java.net.PlainDatagramSocketImpl.socketSetOption(Native Method)
        at java.net.PlainDatagramSocketImpl.setOption(PlainDatagramSocketImpl.java:309)
        at java.net.MulticastSocket.setInterface(MulticastSocket.java:424)
        at gnu.cajo.utils.Multicast.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:662)
java.net.SocketException: bad argument for IP_MULTICAST_IF: address not bound to any interface
        at java.net.PlainDatagramSocketImpl.socketSetOption(Native Method)
        at java.net.PlainDatagramSocketImpl.setOption(PlainDatagramSocketImpl.java:309)
        at java.net.MulticastSocket.setInterface(MulticastSocket.java:424)
        at gnu.cajo.utils.Multicast.announce(Unknown Source)
        at gnu.cajo.Cajo.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at myCajoServerTest.MyCajoServerTest.main(MyCajoServerTest.java:28)
Posted: April 29, 2011 19:03 by John Catherino
Let's figure this out!

The current version of the Cajo object has a constructor as follows:

Cajo(int ttl, String address, int port)